The Queens County Young Democrats (QCYD) gathered at the Powhatan Democratic Club this week to elect their 2018-2019 Executive Board.

    “In this political climate, it is now more important than ever for young people to get involved in their communities – and that starts right here in Queens, one of the most diverse places in the country,”said Adrian Drepaul, QCYD’s newly elected President.

    “This Executive Board will work in partnership with Congressman Joe Crowley and the Queens Democratic Party in efforts across the board to resisting the dangerous Trump agenda. From taking back Congress to finally enacting gun reform, QCYD aims to become the model of resistance state and nationwide. I could not have asked for a better team, and we look forward to a great year ahead,” said Adrian Drepaul, QCYD’s newly elected President.

    New Ren Laws Small size

    Drepaul is the first Indo-Caribbean elected President in QCYD’s history. Members of the diverse new board hail from all parts of the borough, and the organization pledged to work with Democrats across the city to effectively voice the concerns of young individuals in the Party and combat the Donald Trump and GOP agenda.

    The official youth arm of the Queens County Democratic Party, QCYD focuses on political mobilization, voter and issue education and professional development for members. Last year, the organization was at the forefront of several successful Democratic campaigns across the state, recruiting 100 volunteers to get out the vote by knocking over 6,710 doors and reaching 1,206 voters in several races including Council Members Paul Vallone and Barry Grodenchik as well as Elizabeth Crowley’s bid for re-election to the Council.

    QCYD’s issue-driven panels have gained borough-wide acclaim and have featured an array of elected officials, policy experts, labor leaders and issue advocates.

    The 2018 executive board includes Adrian Drepaul: President; Dori Ann Pliska: Executive Vice President; Antonio Alfonso: Vice President of Political Affairs;  Rianna Young: Vice President of Diversity and Outreach; David Aronov: Vice President of Membership; Breeana Mulligan: Communications Director; Charlotte Martin: Secretary Joy Chowdhury: Treasurer.

    For more information, visit


    %d bloggers like this: